My personal downfall…

20131106-231648.jpg

So I’ve been thinking about this for some time… The golden question: How do I make time for me?

As a mom and wife does that even exist? Is it necessary? Is it selfish?

I don’t flippin’ know! I have been juggling the pseudo-single mom life this past year since my hubbs travels quite often for work and the alone time is few and far between. I feel like it’s my duty to be there for the boys even more to compensate for the other half being gone. They feel it… I feel it. They are stressed… I am stressed.

Often I feel that my non-mommy friends don’t understand why I can’t hang out when they can or I can’t go to dinner because frankly I just don’t have the energy to deal with a screaming tired 2 yr old that is fighting with his older brother.

But as I type this I wonder to myself if I am doing an injustice to all of us by not taking time to myself when I can. Surely me being stressed and overly tired does no good for anyone. So I guess if I could change one thing about myself… I’d change priority for myself.

So now that I’ve talked myself into it… Where’s my nail technician with my glass of wine?!

πŸ˜‰

9 thoughts on “My personal downfall…

    • Thanks Kathleen! Glad to know I’m not the only one. Now don’t get me wrong I do appreciate going to get my hair done every other month. Just have to remind myself! πŸ˜‰

  1. OMG!! YES TAKE TIME FOR YOU!! Always! It makes you better in every way and teaches your kids, especially girls who will grow up to be moms, that it is OKAY and normal to spend time with yourself and on yourself. My kids are older and I struggled with this too, but it is essential and I made time for me and it was “normal”. Remember the saying “If mama ain’t happy, no one is!” My husband and I each had a night out a week, to go out with friends and then we went out together. It’s good for the whole family:)

  2. I am a new momma and struggle with this as well. I work from home and the kiddo is 6 months old and is with me 3 days a week. I am working on finding time in my schedule to just be me. It’s an ongoing battle!

  3. I am not a mom..and we have almost nothing in common.. But for some reason, i really loved your blog.. I love the way you put things into writing. So simple and nice to read. Keep posting πŸ™‚

Share your thoughts...

